Filter by:

Find an ECA Registered Member

Advanced search

Quality Management Support

ECA offers free ‘first line’ information and advice, through our chosen QMS consultancy partner, to members who want to know more about ISO 9001:2015. 

Quality is a defining feature for any building engineering services contractor, and many contractors need an effective quality management system (QMS) to support internal management and, often, to satisfy buyers. 
Meeting the requirements of ISO 9001 can help a company to manage essential operational issues such as: pre-qualification; service improvement; efficiency; training; and reputation. 

When a buyer asks a contractor for evidence of a QMS, it usually looks for third-party certification to ISO 9001, the internationally-recognised QMS Standard. Third-partly certification is offered by a range of bodies, and the ECA recommends using a body with UKAS accreditation, or equivalent.  (ISO 9001 describes the key features of an internal QMS, which some contractors find helpful, even if they do not need to undergo third-party certification.)

Major changes to ISO 9001

ISO 9001 exists in two varieties - ISO 9001:2008 and ISO 9001:2015. ISO 9001:2015 is significantly different to the 2008 version, and it represents the latest business consensus on what makes an effective management system Standard.  Its core requirements are also much better aligned (using so-called ‘Annex SL’ changes) with other new management systems Standards, such as the environmental management systems Standard ISO 14001:2015.

While a current certificate based on the 2008 version may be valid the end of September 2018, a new certificate must be based on ISO 9001:2015. 


Read more