Recognising excellence in electrotechnical and engineering services

         ECA Awards                About                 2017 Winners                Dinner                Judging                Sponsorship                Press

Judging Panel

The ECA Annual Awards independent judging is undertaken by a panel of leading industry figures representing different areas of expertise and interest. Judges look for a company that can show it has achieved the highest standards in our industry, to which others can aspire.

Click below to find out more about the judges.

  • Paul has previously held senior posts at the Engineering Employers' Federation (EEF) and the Chemical Industries Association.
    He was also a non-executive director of BVQI UK and, more recently, a Director of Retrofitworks. He is currently on the advisory board of certification body BM Trada Exova.
    Paul is a chartered Fellow of both the Institute of Environmental Management and the Institution of Occupational Safety and Health.

  • Tessa is an experienced general management professional with an extensive track record in leading business growth, Tessa joined the Electrical Industries Charity as their Managing Director from Parsons Brinckerhoff (a Balfour Beatty company) where she held the position of National General Manager for Oil & Gas.  She has an extensive track record leading business growth and change initiatives for a multidisciplinary engineering and construction business focusing on the energy and resources industry.

  • Phil Buckle was appointed Chief Executive of the Electrical Safety Council – now known as Electrical Safety First - in May 2009.  Prior to this, he served as its Director of Charitable Affairs from 2007.
    Phil has had a distinguished career in the electrical installation industry holding a number of senior posts including Head of Technical Services at the Electrical Contractors’ Association and Director of Marketing and Business Development at the NICEIC Group.
    During his tenure at Electrical Safety First, Phil has overseen an increase in the Charity’s public and political profile - and ensured that campaigns and technical guidance are underpinned by research and ethical principles. He has also driven the strategy on developing the Charity’s expertise in the field of electrical product safety, particularly in the areas of recalls and traceability.
    Phil holds a Master of Science degree, with distinction, in Management in the Voluntary Sector and is a Fellow of the IET.

  • Mark has over 21 years’ experience of delivering marketing and communications across a range of diverse industries - insurance, medical software, higher education and construction.
    He holds Postgraduate Diplomas with the Chartered Institute of Marketing, the Institute of Direct and Digital Marketing and the Chartered Institute of Public Relations.
    He joined NICEIC in 2009 and was promoted to Marketing Director of Certsure in 2015. His achievements include launching the award-winning Live conference and exhibition (2011), co-ordinating marketing communications for the formation of Certsure (2013) and launching the company’s first ever TV and online commercial (2016).

  • Caroline has been employed with JTL since 1991 and has been a member of JTL’s executive director team since 2004.  As well as being Company Secretary, for the past five years she has been Director of Operations for JTL and JT Limited.  More recently, and given the rapidly changing political landscape and significant policy changes affecting work based learning, she has moved into the role of Director of Policy and External Relations.  This will ensure that JTL is well advised on future apprenticeship and training policy matters and can contribute to the shaping of that policy as well as ensuring that the best interests of the industry are represented with Government and all the relevant stakeholder organisations.
    Caroline has worked with Government funded training organisations for more than 30 years and has held a number of positions including Manager of Training Policy and Acting Assistant Director, Manpower for the Building Employers’ Confederation, monitoring and advising employers on general developments in the training sector as well as being Assistant Rapporteur to the Vocational Training Commission of the International Construction Industry Federation.  

  • Wendy Griffiths is the Vice President Global Development for CEDIA. Griffiths’ specialist skills include new business development, event management, media relations, marketing communications, strategic planning, customer service, integration as well as business strategy.

  • Daniel Kemp is features editor at Construction News and oversees CN’s in-depth content, ranging from project case studies and company profiles through to special reports and sector analysis.
    His principal areas of focus include innovation, technology, sustainability and the supply chain.
    Daniel was named Construction/Infrastructure Writer of the Year at the 2015 International Building Press awards, having received a High Commendation in the Multimedia Journalist category in 2013.

  • Helen became ECA’s Director of Member Services in September 2014 and is responsible for the Regional Teams, Marketing, Member Services and also the ECS contact and administration centre.  Previously Helen worked for the Construction Skills Certification Scheme (CSCS) where she was Director of Strategy and Communications. Prior to that, she was Director of Client Services at CORGI and Membership Services Director at BTS Ltd.  Her career has also spanned house building, local government, technical publishing and consultancy.

    The ECA Annual Awards judging panel will be moderated by Helen, but she will not be involved in the judging decisions.

The Judges’ decision is final.