Skip to main content
Find a member Join

Asbestos awareness training

Three basic types of training

Depending on a contractor’s activity, three main levels of site operative and manager information, instruction and training are required by law (the Control of Asbestos Regulations 2012). These are: 

  • Asbestos awareness
  • Non-licensable work with asbestos including NNLW
  • Licensable work with asbestos 

Information, instruction and training

Knowing how to deal properly with asbestos-related activity and events comes from sufficient training, on-the-job learning, and instruction.

Workers, supervisors (and if operationally involved, managers) must be able to recognise asbestos-containing materials (ACMs) and know what to do if they come across them, to protect themselves, their employees, and others.

It is important that the level of information, instruction and training reflects the work and the roles undertaken by each worker/supervisor. Training needs analysis (TNA) can help to identify what type of training is required, to ensure workers have the necessary skills and knowledge to avoid putting themselves or others at risk.

Further information on asbestos awareness and non-licensed training is also available from Environtec, ECA’s preferred asbestos training partner.

Read more