Filter by:

Find an ECA Registered Member

Advanced search
Area of work:

World’s first global health and safety management standard published

14 March 2018

The new ISO 45001 Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) Management System standard was published on 12th of March and will be available from BSI (British Standards Institute). 

This new standard is based on the same structure as ISO 9001 (quality standard) and ISO 14001 (environmental standard). Therefore it will be easier to align and integrate these standards. OHSAS 18001 will be withdrawn, so if you are currently certified to OHSAS 18001 you will need to migrate to ISO 45001. There will be a three year transition period, but you can migrate sooner if you wish. BSI will also be publishing a UK based guide for implementing ISO 45001; this will be called BS 45002 and is intended to help SMEs as well as large organisations. 

There are a number of providers who will be auditing to certify organisations to this new ISO 45001 standard, so you could check with your current provider.

For further information, the links below may be useful:

ECA Group Companies & Brands: