Filter by:

Find an ECA Registered Member

Advanced search
Area of work:

Leading electrotechnical businesses win top industry awards

Twenty electrotechnical and engineering services organisations and individuals recognised at 2019 ECA Industry Awards

10 June 2019


The 2019 ECA Industry Awards showcased some of the key achievements by leading talent in the sector during an impressive ceremony held in London on Friday 7 June.

In all, 19 top-performing businesses from across the industry scooped honours at the awards, which were supported by joint headline sponsors LEDVANCE and Electrium.

Former ECA President Bill Wright, of W Wright Electrical Ltd, also picked up the ‘major contribution to the industry’ award. Bill was recognised for his decades working tirelessly in the industry to create a fair environment for both employers and employees, and for his dedication to pushing for delivery of good quality apprenticeships.

Helen Atkinson, ECA Director of Member Services and Awards Adjudicator, said:

“Many congratulations to those Members who deservedly won this year’s ECA Industry Awards, and also to the highly commended nominees who all submitted impressive entries. We would like to encourage ECA Members who are working on impressive and innovative projects during 2019, or who are delivering new initiatives, to enter the 2020 awards.”

Guests on the night were treated to a range of entertainment, including live music and table magic. Thousands of pounds were also raised for the Electrical Industries Charity during a prize draw. TV personalities Huw Edwards and Alan Dedicoat hosted the proceedings and presented awards to the winning ECA organisations and individuals.

And the winners were...

Large Contractor of the Year - turnover over £20 million (sponsored by Schneider Electric)

  • Winner – Clarkson Evans
  • Highly commended – NG Bailey

Contractor of the Year - up to £20 million turnover (sponsored by Eaton)

  • Winner – Orton Group
  • Highly commended – Ceetech

Contractor of the Year - up to £5 million turnover (sponsored by JIB)

  • Winner – West & West
  • Highly commended – SJD Electrical

Contractor of the Year – up to £1 million turnover (sponsored by Edmundson Electrical)

  • Winner – Abtec Building Technologies
  • Highly commended –
    • Building Wiring Solutions
    • D&B Electrical Contractors Ltd

Best Energy Solutions Project (sponsored by ABB)

  • Winner - SSE

Best Fire & Security Project (sponsored by FSA)

  • Winner – Triple Star Fire & Security

Best Health & Safety Initiative (sponsored by Electrical Safety First)

  • Winner – NG Bailey
  • Highly commended
    • Faradays
    • SSE

Excellence in Training & Development (sponsored by JTL)

  • Winner – Ceetech
  • Highly commended – Property Plus

Best Supply Chain Initiative (sponsored by Trimble Luckins)

  • Winner – AICO

Best Client/Partnership (sponsored by ECIC)

  • Winner – Geoffrey Robinson
  • Highly commended – Orton Group

Major Contribution to the Industry

  • Winner – Bill Wright of W Wright Electrical Ltd

Entries for the 2020 awards will open later this year and details will be available at

ECA Group Companies & Brands: