Filter by:

Find an ECA Registered Member

Advanced search
Area of work:

Industry leaders win prestigious Fire and Security Awards

FSA recognises industry professionals for their outstanding contributions

21 November 2019

Two outstanding individuals from the fire, emergency and security industry have been recognised by the Fire & Security Association (FSA) for changing the sector for the better at this year’s IFSEC Security and Fire Excellence Awards.

Dennis Davis of the Fire Sector Federation won the Ian Marsh Fire Award for his significant contribution to industry, including leadership roles at the Institution of Fire Engineers, UK Fire Officers and the International Fire and Rescue Services Association.

Simon Banks of CSL scooped the Peter Greenwood Security Award, having been a champion for the sector over many years, in his roles at NSI, BAFE, CSL, and most recently as Chair of the British Security Industry Association (BSIA).

ECA Technical Director Mike Smith commented:

“Both Dennis and Simon have been fantastic champions of our industry over the years, and the FSA is delighted to recognise them for their work.”

The FSA was an official partner at the IFSEC Awards, which took place yesterday (20 November) at the Park Lane Hilton in London.

Judges for the awards included Tom Brookes, Chair of the FSA Committee and managing director of Lindum Fire Services Ltd; Richard Jenkins, CEO of NSI; Alex Carmichael, CEO SSAIB; Alan Wilson, managing director of SELECT; and Una Riley, patron of Women in Security and Master of the Company of Security Professionals.

The FSA consists of members of ECA, the leading electrotechnical and engineering trade association, and Scottish electrical trade body SELECT – although the awards are open to the entire industry.

The Peter Greenwood Security Award

The Peter Greenwood Security Award recognises individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the security systems industry. It is the longest established individual award in the security profession and has been in existence since Peter Greenwood’s untimely death in January 1995. Peter was a former Head of the ECA Security Group and was involved with its Fire Group. He was also a founder member of the Security Industry Lead Body (SILB).

The Ian Marsh Fire Award

The Ian Marsh Fire Awards recognises individuals who demonstrate enthusiasm and selfless concern for the fire and emergency systems industry. The Award was renamed in honour of Ian Marsh in 2013, the year after he died from illness. Ian made a major contribution to the industry, including an active involvement with both British Standards and the Wiring Regulations, as well as having a pivotal role in the creation of certification body ELECSA.

More information on the two awards can be viewed here -

ECA Group Companies & Brands: