Skip to main content
Find a member Join

Pre-qualification and assessment

This section outlines how to make use of Safety Schemes in Procurement (SSIP) during health and safety pre-qualification, and provides practical advice and information on successfully engaging with pre-qualification.


The Common Assessment Standard

The Common Assessment Standard (CAS) has been developed by Build UK and other industry bodies, with ECA support.  The aim of the CAS is to provide an industry recognised PQ standard, widely specified and recognised by commercial and public sector buyers. The CAS is already specified by several major building contractors and specification is likely to increase.

The CAS is available as ‘desktop’ assessment or at the supplier’s site (‘onsite’ assessment) as required by the buyer. CAS assessment questions include company business information and health and safety, but also topics such as CSR, equalities, environmental and quality.

As well as the mandatory questions there are advisory (non-mandatory) questions and various exemptions.  E.g. Members that hold certain UKAS accredited ISO management standards may be exempt from answering some questions, as may businesses with under 10 employees.

ECA has produced guidance to help Members navigate the CAS and answer the questions. Read our guidance > 

There are currently three CAS assessment bodies: CHAS, Constructionline and Achilles. ECA has a CAS Member discount arrangement with CHAS.

You can find out more about the CAS here >

Safety Schemes in Procurement (SSIP)

The Common assessment Standard recognises certification to SSIP level as meeting the health and safety requirements of the CAS, thereby reducing duplicated effort and costs. In addition, some buyers may still only require SSIP certification rather than CAS certification. You can find out more about SSIP at (hyperlink).  

SSIP member schemes include: CHAS, SafeContractor, SMAS, Exor, Altius and CQMS. ECA has an SSIP Member discount arrangement with CHAS.

Your FREE CHAS Assessment & Discounts

Read more

Safety Schemes in Procurement (SSIP)

Read more

Winning Contracts & SSIP Compliance

Read More
Common Assessment Standard Manual

Common Assessment Standard Manual

This ECA guidance covers the assessment of supplier’s capability in key areas via the Common Assessment Standard (CAS).